Boyfriends

Boyfriends. Do we really need them? Honestly, probably not, but they surely do make life more… Interesting. Knowing that there’s someone, who you’re paired off with, in this world that has gotten so accustomed to pairing off; finally, you’re in one of the beloved pairs! (Not necessarily for life, but for a little while). Now I know that being in a relationship doesn’t make you any more, or less, of a person. I don’t even know what age I think it’s good to get in a relationship, or to be at least open to starting one, because I guess I think it depends on each individual person. In my opinion, relationships are pretty fun. I like to be a serious person, but I also like to have someone that I can be silly with, and weird around, and that likes me for me. I know you can get that from a best friend, or like someone who doesn’t necessarily have to fit the description of a physically involved partner. But, it’s surely more fun when those silly moments, can lead to a kiss, and make that moment feel that little extra bit of fun. I know you’re probably thinking something like “Hello! Being in a relationship, and kissing people isn’t what life is all about!” I definitely realize that, I’m just describing my thoughts of being in relationships. I do feel like its important to not become obsessed with being in relationships though, because that’s not healthy; and being single for a while does help you realize that having another person liking you that way, is not a factor of survival, and that you can be strong on your own. So now that that is clear, I’ll try to redirect back what I was trying to say. They can be a fun thing, and they can be a hard thing.
Hmm… Now I’ve kind of forgotten what I was getting at…
Ahh, yes! I remember; I was getting to my thoughts of affection. I feel like one of my most favorite things about relationships is cuddling, and just hugging that special person. I just helps to reaffirm (in my opinion) the way you care about each other. Having special time with a special person is the best, it makes me so happy. About a week or two ago, I was hanging out with my boyfriend at my house. I hadn’t seen him for about almost two weeks. I didn’t realize, until after we hugged, how much I had missed him, and just craved the feeling of being close to him, and being able to touch him. The rest of our time hanging out was very enjoyable; I was just flooded with happy emotion. Seeing him after a while of not being able to, just filled my happiness and love tank, to an all time high. I was over come with happy feelings for him. In my opinion, although it was a fairly short amount of time in retrospect, it felt like forever for our budding relationship. The length of our relationship now could probably be compared to a little sprout of a relationship, much more developed than a seed, but not necessarily a tree. We’ve been going out for almost two months now, and I really enjoy his company, and talking to him. He was a guy that I had a crush on for a while, and then when he said that he wanted me to be his girl ever since he saw me, it made my day. What makes me amazed though, is how different relationships can be with each person you date. In the grand scheme of things, I look at this relationship as my first serious, and notable relationship. I was sort of the girlfriend of a guy before the archer, and it lasted for longer than the archer and I have been going out, but it was far less of a relationship. In three months, I had allowed him to only kiss me twice. I didn’t want to kiss him, and sadly only realized that after I had already agreed to being his girlfriend. I would make excuses not to kiss him, and he just accepted it. He didn’t try to make any emotional connection by deeply talking to me at all, and I felt bored when I talked to him, because I tended to keep the conversation going. He would only complain about his little siblings, and then it just just became annoying because when I would try to talk about something I wanted to speak about (granted the one thing I’m thinking of is an intellectual discussion) he just would shrug it off and not even humor me. To me, I had been talking to this guy for two years as friends (fb friends) and we had good conversations, but when I agreed to being his girlfriend, he seemed to not care what I had to say anymore. I have the capacity to like personalities, where they can be more attractive than looks, and I had thought his personality (his online one that is) seemed nice. He wasn’t very attractive, and I could tell that from his pictures, but I was attached to the personality. So I went out with him. When I realized that both aspects weren’t good… I broke up with him… Over text nonetheless. Lets just say, I wanted it to be over, and over soon. I know it’s not considerate to break up over text, but it felt like there wasn’t a better way. Because I wanted to make sure to end it, and I hadn’t seen him for like the last third of our relationship, so it’s not like I could arrange a time to see him, and I didn’t want to have to wait long. We never had even hung out anywhere other than our one meeting spot (a public facility). He didn’t come over to my house the entire three months, and honestly, I didn’t want him to.
Now my current boyfriend (code name, the archer): Let’s just say, we beat the kissing record of my last relationship, in the first day. We had talked a bit before we got together, on fb, and had talked in person before he found my Facebook, so it’s not like I jumped into it. I was glad to know that he is definitely a way better kisser than the first guy. I had convinced myself that kissing didn’t have it have fireworks for the fist guy, or like that it was probably overrated and that that was why it sucked with me and the first guy. Nope, I was just making excuses for his horrible kissing. Because according to him, I was good. In my book though, he was not, and it made me feel uncomfortable to kiss him. He was my first kiss though. With my archer though, kissing feels right, and has an even more powerful affect when we don’t get to do it for the length of just a few days. I’m glad to have found my arch, because we definitely have a connection. He makes me happy, and I miss him when I’m not with him. That was completely not the case with the other guy. I just didn’t know that relationships could be this affecting to your moods. I guess it’s just what happens though when you like someone, and start to get attached to them.
I can honestly say, I’ve never felt this way before, and am excited to see what the future holds for me and my archer.

Leave a comment