home is home

Ahh, it feels good to be home. I was gone for over a week, and I have to say, I definitely missed my house and the familiar smells. It smells like home. I know that seems strange, but it’s just comforting. I’m finally back to my own bed and not a guest room bed where I feel anti-social if i just wanna spend most of my time in that room, or away from everybody. What can I say, I just don’t like having to spend so much time sitting around staring at the tv with relatives. Don’t get me wrong, that’s not all we end up doing– we also talk. There comes a time in most of those conversations though where I either feel awkward that my parents bring up something about my life, or the conversation ends up becoming boring. Those two outcomes make me just want to avoid too many hours of conversation. Also, vacation never seems like “vacation”. I can’t think of the last time where we went on one of these vacations and I actually felt like relaxed or anything. It’s always stressful, because long car rides means more room for error in communication, and grumpiness. Then, when we get to wherever we’re going, the plan is to see stuff all week. I just don’t understand why when you’re on vacation at a random place, you have to see all the sights, do all the things. I was looking forward to the days of no school and sleeping in. But I didn’t really sleep in at all. It’s just kind of disappointing. Because I missed working out for all of those days, and had to sit in the car on the drive for a good portion of it, and didn’t get to relax, so I felt like I might as well have been home doing what I want to do. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the ability to see these places, but under the circumstances I would’ve been more relaxed spending my time at home. 

Leave a Reply

